Theme Park Maths: Applying What We Know!

The children in 5SH Maths have been asked to open a Theme Park. Each week they’re going to do new tasks to get it ready for opening. This week was their fourth week so they needed to check how effective they were at designing their theme park maps. They were asked to consider:

  • How far would someone who wanted to visit all of the fast, scary or children’s rides have to walk?
  • What point is the furthest from a rubbish bin? or from a toilet or food outlet?
  • How much time would it take someone to visit a certain amount or type of rides, including walking time, ride time and even queuing time?
  • How many can your theme park hold so that no queue is greater than half an hour long?
  • How many can your theme park hold so that the car park is not at full capacity?
  • Any other interesting conclusions you can think of.

James: 

How many fast rides are in your park?there are 3 fast rides in my park.how far will you have to walk to reach all of them? I would have to walk 31cm in my map but in real life 31m.how long do you estimate it would take? I would guess 31 seconds.how long do you estimate it will take to get through the queue?maybe it would take 13 minutes.how long will the ride take including queueing, walking time and ride time for ALL fast rides-how long do you think it will take?i think it will take 1 hour and 20 mins.

Max:

How far would visitors have to walk to visit all my rides from the entrance?
From the entrance of my park you would walk 17m to get to my scary ride
You would walk 31m to get to my kids ride
You would walk 24m for my spinning ride
You would walk 7m to get to my pirate swing ride
You would walk 17m for my haunted house
You would walk 13m for my Ferris wheel

What is furthest and the closest rides to toilets

My furthest ride from toilets is the Ferris wheel with 17/18m
My closest ride to toilets is my kids roller coaster with 3m

How long would I have to wait on one of my fast rides to queuing and ride time
My ride is 10mins long and can hold 20 people
If there were 59 people in the queue and the ride is half way through it would take me 45 minutes for me to complete the ride
How long would I have to wait on my kids ride including queuing and ride time
My ride is 5mins log and can hold 20 people
There are 47 people in the queue and the ride is half way through it would take me 17.5 mins

Amaan:

Attachment-1

Harry:

photo (1)

Neha:

There are 2 fast rides in my park. Using the path,a person would need to walk 13cms(on my map) to reach each of the 2 fast rides one after the other. In real life, 13cms , with a scale of 1:100 would be 13x 100 cms or 1300  metres. I have estimated that in 1 minute I can walk 13m so to walk 26 m in two minutes. If my fast rides can have 10 people on at once, and there are 20 people in the queue whe I get there it will take me 10 mins to get on the ride because each ride lasted 10 minutes. If I have the same experience on each of the 2 fast rides in my park it would take me. 20 mins to queue and another 20 for actual time on the fast rides.

No Name:

How far will it take someone who wanted to visit all the scary rides.
To the roller coaster to the haunted house would be 9 meters and it would be 4 meters from the haunted house to the log flume. 21 meters from entrance to roller coaster 15 meters from entrance to haunted house.25 meters from entrance to log fume .
List of rides
Roller coaster takes 5 mins.         3 mins at the queue
Log flume 4 mins                          3 mins at the queue
Children’s playground
Ferris wheel 3 mins                       4 mins at the queue
Merry go round 2 mins                  5 mins at the queue
Dogems 7 mins.                             7 mins at the queue
Bouncy castle 12 mins                   12 mins at the queue
Train ride 3 mins.                             5 mins at the queue
Circus tent 20 mins.                      30 mins at the queue
Spinning ride 7 mins.                   11 mins at queue

I have 2 ice cream stands, 6 bins,a cafe ,a shop,4 toilets .

Saajan:

Untitled

 

Shrey:

Attachment-1 (2)

 

Morgan:

Attachment-1 (3)

Prakriti:

There are 4 fast rides in my park. Using the path , a person would need to walk 3cm ( In real life you need to walk 300m).Then to the second ride from the entrance you would need to walk 6cm ( in real life 600m)

Elsa:

my  scary theme park rides  I have 5 scary rides it takes  2 mins to walk from the car to the first ride then it takes 4 mins to walk to the next ride all on path  it then takes 5 to walk to the next one where you will pass a bin, the cafe and the toilet then you will take 3 minutes where you will go  straight past the toilet the next ride 2 mins altogether it will take  over18 mins.

What I have
Rollercoaster  ride is 5 mins long
roller coaster.  Ride is 7mins long
Log fume        8.5 mins long
Ferris wheel  7 mins long
Pirate. Swing   6 mins long
5 bins.
2toilets
Car park
Ice cream stand lots of different flavours
Cafe family food
Merry go round 3 mins
Train ride.    5 mins
Bouncy castle 4 mins

6paths 2 mins to get across
PARK holds 600 people

Eliza:

How far will it take someone who wanted to visit all the scary rides.
To the roller coaster to the haunted house would be 9 meters and it would be 4 meters from the haunted house to the log flume. 21 meters from entrance to roller coaster 15 meters from entrance to haunted house.25 meters from entrance to log fume .
List of rides
Roller coaster takes 5 mins.         3 mins at the queue
Log flume 4 mins                          3 mins at the queue
Children’s playground
Ferris wheel 3 mins                       4 mins at the queue
Merry go round 2 mins                  5 mins at the queue
Dogems 7 mins.                             7 mins at the queue
Bouncy castle 12 mins                   12 mins at the queue
Train ride 3 mins.                             5 mins at the queue
Circus tent 20 mins.                      30 mins at the queue
Spinning ride 7 mins.                   11 mins at queue

I have 2 ice cream stands, 6 bins,a cafe ,a shop,4 toilets .

Tyler:

I have 3 children’s ride those 3 are train,dodgems,circus.I would have to walk 36cm (on my map) but in real life (with a scale of 1:100) it would be 3600cm or 36m by path but if I went on the mud it would be more direct and be 30m.An average man walks at about 1m a second so by path with 0 stops it could take just 36 seconds if u wanted to get muddy only 30 seconds.

Agrima:

How many fast rides are in your park?
There are 2 fast rides in my park

How far would you need to walk to all the food outlets?
Using the path, a person would need to walk 77cms to reach to the two food outlets. In real life, 77cms, with a scale of 1:100 would be 77 x 100cms or 77metres.

How many cars can park in your car park?
In my two car parks in total 12 cars can park.

Shannon:

The scale of my fair is 1cm = 1m

How many fast rides are there in your park?
There are 3 fast rides in my park.

How far would you have to walk to reach all of the food outlets?
From the entrance Using the path a person would need to walk 28cm on my map to reach the two food outlets (in real life it would be 28m to the food outlets).

Alex:

How many fast rides are in your park?
There are 2 fast rides in my park.  To get there I would have to pass a bouncy castle. I would have to walk 15 cms ( on my map ) which in real life would be 1500 cms or 15 metres.

Isobel:

Theme park
There are 5 fast rides in my park. Using the path, a person would need to walk (on my map):
–  car park to roller coaster: 1 mins
–  car park to toilets: 3 mins
–  car park to children’s playground/ pirate swing: 4 mins each
–  car park to bins: 10 mins to furthest one.
The average time to travel to each activity is approximately 5 mins.
Between each activity there is about 20cm on my map but in real life with a scale of 1:100 it is 20×100= 2000cm and 20m.
I have estimated at I can walk 50m in 1 minute so to walk 100m it will take 2m.
If my fast ride can have 15 people on at once and it’ll take 2 mins for each ride then in half an hour about 225 people can go on the ride. In one hour 550 people can go on.

Nitheesh:

Attachment-1 (4)

 

Vrinda:

How many fast rides are there in your park?
I have got 4 fast rides including feris wheel ,spin ride , pirate swing ride and roller coaster.

How far will you have to walk to reach all of them?
On my map to reach The Ferris wheel from the car park you would have to walk 14cm but In real life it is 14 cm from a scale 1m to 100cm.On my map to reach  the spin ride it would take 13 cm but in real life that would be 13m.On my map to reach  the pirate swing ride it would take 16cm and in real life that would be 16m. On my map to get to the roller coster it is 3cm but in real life it would be3m

Evan:

Attachment-1 (5)

 

Davleen:

There is 1 fast ride in my park. Using the path, a person would need to walk 2cm (on my map) to the lake from the car park. In real life it would be 2m. In real life, 15cm, with a scale of 1:100 would be 15m.

Hannah D:

How much time would it take someone to visit a certain amount of rides, including walking time, Ride time and even queuing? …………
I have 10 rides in my theme park, five fast rides and six children’s rides.

Fast rides: Rollercoaster, log flume, pirate swing, haunted house, Ferris wheel.
Children’s rides: circus tent, children’s playground, train ride, bouncy castle, Dodgems .

Car Park:2
Restaurants: 1
Toilets: 2
Snack bar: 1
Ice creams shop: 1
Shop: 1
Bins: 4

Ride Times: ……….
Roller coaster: 5 mins
Pirate swing ride : 5 mins
Log flume: 7 mins
Children’s playground: ( how long you want until closing time)
Ferris wheel: 5 mins
Haunted house: 10 mins
Dodgems: 7 mins
Bouncy castle: 5 mins
Train ride : 3 mins
Circus tent : 20 mins

Queuing: …..
2 car parks ( can fit 40 cars each), 80 cars altogether, 4-5 people in each car
4 people on each car: 4 x 80 = 320 people << average
5 people in each car: 5 x 80 = 400 people << average
320-400 people in my theme park……
Some cars May Hold more/less people
So……
320 people, 10 rides plus restaurants and shops……
400 people, 10 rides plus restaurants and shops……

Walking time:
I have paths that lead to rides, not around rides…
(It’s now the end of maths…. I’ll finish soon……)

jack B theme park maths

 

 

27 thoughts on “Theme Park Maths: Applying What We Know!

  1. Great work guys.

    You have used some complex calculations whilst working out your budget, which is great. I like the way you have worked out how many people can enter your park using multiplication as well as the way you have annotated your photos.

    Good job.

  2. Hannah , I really like the way you listed out the times for the queuing/ride times and how clearly you set it out in columns. I think you could improve by telling us a Bit more information about how you got some of the answers

  3. Evan
    Your works good and you’ve done lots of calculations but you could of set it out more clearly and wrote it all out rather than on the photo

  4. Elsa, I like the way you showed your workings (you added up all the times to walk to each place) and told us exactly how long it took you get to one of the rides u wanted.

  5. James, I like how you have included lots of detail like I would have to walk 31cm on my map but in real life 31m. Overall it is very good but to improve you could say how you worked it out like I counted the squares and there were 31 so I knew it was 31cm.

  6. Max,I liked your work because you explained it clearly and accurately and I don’t think I can find anything to improve.when you explained all your rides and the distance that was really good because you included all the info.

  7. Isobel-I really liked your work because it was well set out and you explained the timings very well. However I think you could have explained your workings on how long it would take to go from place to place on your map.

  8. Jack,well done for showing your workings on your car park maybe next time you could make it clearer on how long you are queuing for

  9. Max,
    I like the way you explained all your rides instead of one ride. I also liked how you said if a certain number was in the queue it would take this amount of time.

  10. Saajan,

    I liked that you told me how many meters it took to get to one ride after another. It was also good that you told me the scale as it helped me to work out how far it was in real life. Although, you did cover how far it was between rides but, how far was it from the entrance, to the first ride, to the next, and then back to the entrance.

  11. Prakriti, I like the way you used your maths skills to calculate the whole amount of metres in real life, I think you could have told us a bit more information about your rides….. 🙂

  12. Vrinda, I like your work because you have said that if it is 16cm then in real life it will be 16m but I think you could have an improvement in the 14cm because you put that in real life it will be 14cm but actually it was ment to be 14m. Other then that I like your work.

  13. Harry, I like how you have included the scale because that is important but there is too much going on the faces weren’t necessary and it is just hard to understand what you were doing. So next time don’t decorate it.

  14. Elsa I like how you wrote how long the rides were and you also wrote the distance between each ride you could improve by telling me how do you know 600 people can go into your theme park.

  15. Alex -I like your work because you’ve included the number of fast rides and the distance between them. But it would be better if you wrote the timings for the rides and include a photo for your theme park. Nitheesh 🙂

  16. Shrey,you described the distance for you to walk to all the fast rides well.Next time you might want to do a bit more because there were only two facts.

  17. Morgan, I liked the way you explained your work because it is very detailed and understandable, but if you had more than one restraunts, so you could use arrows to show which restraunt you’re talking about.

  18. Neha,
    I liked your work because you included all of the queuing times, times of the fast rides, and all of the measurements. I thought you could maybe say the times of all of the rides and how long it would take to go all the way around the park.

  19. I like Isobel’s work because she has written how many people can go on one ride and I also like the bit where she has mentioned how long it will take to walk in a certain amount of time.

    What I think she could improve is maybe put a little bit more detail in it.

  20. Evan, I could see your answers.Also you made it easy to know where each place in your park was.
    You could improve by showing your workings.

Leave a Reply

